Published on September 16, 2022

Brabaw Receives Terence F. Moore Award

Photo of Buffy Brabaw, R.N., nursing shift supervisor, accepting the Terence Moore award in 2022.

Chuck Sherwin, FACHE, president, MyMichigan Medical Center Midland, presented Buffy Brabaw, R.N., nursing shift supervisor, the Terence F. Moore Award, along with Terence Moore, and Bryan Cross, Pharm.D., chief operations officer, MyMichigan Health. Elizabeth (Buffy) Brabaw, R.N., nursing shift supervisor, was named this year’s recipient of the Terence F. Moore Award, formerly the Bernard Lorimer Award. To be eligible, MyMichigan Medical Center Midland employees must possess 10 years or more of service and exhibit compassion and concern for people; loyalty, dedication, cooperation and willingness to help others; have earned the respect and admiration of others; demonstrate a positive attitude and have made meaningful contributions to others through their own performance.

Brabaw’s co-workers, who nominated her for the award, said her ability to face adversity with a strong voice, a laugh and a smile lifts the spirits of the building and helps calm anyone’s anxiety. As a nursing shift supervisor, she fosters a safe and positive culture for all employees. She has been with the Medical Center for 43 years.

“This award is like being selected into our Hall of Fame,” said Chuck Sherwin, FACHE, president, MyMichigan Medical Center Midland. “It’s a lifetime award for an employee’s commitment to our Medical Center. Buffy is so deserving of this award. For the last several decades, she has showed compassion and concern for people, loyalty, dedication, cooperation and a willingness to help others. She truly embodies all of the characteristics associated with this award.”

The longtime MyMichigan Medical Center Midland Bernard E. Lorimer Award, renamed the Terence F. Moore Award last year, first was given in 1978 and was named after Lorimer who was the Medical Center president from 1945 to 1977. Since that time, 43 employees have received the honor for their compassion and concern for people, loyalty and dedication to the Medical Center through extended length of service, cooperation, a positive attitude and a willingness to help others.

“We have been deeply fortunate to have a number of great leaders serve our Medical Center. The first Medical Center president, Mr. Lorimer, gave us a tremendous gift having been responsible for our hospital’s growth from its start at just 44 beds to 305 beds,” said Sherwin. “Following Lorimer, Terry served as Medical Center president and grew our hospital to a multi-member health system. Also having served as the CEO for the health system, Terry was well known for his commitment to employees and creating a positive work environment.”

Serving as MyMichigan Medical Center Midland president from 1977 to 1985, then CEO of MyMichigan Health until 2008, Moore has been recognized at both state and national levels. He has received numerous awards including the Michigan Hospital Association’s two highest honors, the Meritorious Key Award and Leader of the Year Award, as well as the Regents Award from the American College of Healthcare Executives. In addition, Moore was named to the Army’s ROTC National Hall of Fame’s inaugural class in 2016, and received SVSU’s Distinguished Service Medallion in 2017, and the Great Lakes Bay Region’s Philanthropist of the Year in 2019.

Previous Lorimer award recipients include: Carolyn Fraser, Mary Buffa-Tacey, Pete McKnight, Fran Mayhew, Marilyn Haeussler, Lloyd Hoag, Rea Mason, Jan Albar, Harriet Robbins, Barb Dinger, Pauline Fischer, JoAnne Johnston, Sandy Ebright, Becky Dunn, Dave Chapman, Deb Badour, Jan Penney, Dennis Bauer, Karen Calkins, Jan Morrone, Pam Gifford, Carol Campbell, Mary Jane Howe, Norm Adams, Jeanie Hepinstall, Randy Wyse, Bob Valenta, Sally Vajda, Donna Herringshaw, Kathy Squires, Mary Ann Kovacevich, Sue Haley, Andrea Frederick, Peggy Lark, Tonia VanWieren, Rich Weiler, Teresa Wakeman, Susan Janke, Kathleen Ludwig, Sasha Savage, M.D., Cheryl Meyette, Jodi Herman, Tammy Terrell. Previous Moore Award recipients include Robin Nelson.